Good weight

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

derrick

The Glue that binds us together.
What's a reasonable weight for a half decent road bike without spending a fortune, or do people actually know the weight of there bike, including everything you would normally carry on a 40+mile ride.

Gary E

Veteran
Any potential gains that I'd get from shaving ounces off my bike wherever possible seem totally pointless given the weight of the fat slob that rides it :sad:

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
What's a reasonable weight for a half decent road bike without spending a fortune, or do people actually know the weight of there bike, including everything you would normally carry on a 40+mile ride.

I do not know the weight of my bike (I would guestimate about 7.5kg, maybe a bit less), but I would hazard a guess that ~9kg is a reasonable weight for a road bike that doesn't cost a fortune. TBH, even as a bit of a weight weenie, I am not very good at it and seem to get wrapped up in individual component weights rather than focussing on the bigger picture i.e. the whole bike, lol.

Herr-B

A 40 mile* ride is just a couple of water bottles, and a small seat-pack with some tools, tube and a co2 pump. I am the biggest hinderence to my bike's weight, half a kilo on or off the bike doesn't seem much in the grand scheme of my belly.

*I say that, but I've not been much further yet.

fossala

Guru
That is very true. I'm quite slim at 71kg and 5ft 10. My bike weighs nothing in comparison with me. Rolling weight, that's what you have to think about for them climbs.

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
That is very true. I'm quite slim at 71kg and 5ft 10. My bike weighs nothing in comparison with me. Rolling weight, that's what you have to think about for them climbs.