GPX/TCX/TCR to Google Maps with Directions?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Stegabyte

Firstly, I am a newbie here, so please go gently with me.

I dont use a Garmin, but do use an phone, (with battery pack). I use an app that can import gpx maps, but although it shows me the route, If I am not looking at the map at the right time, I can miss turnings, (nearly always going down a steep hill). Does anyone know of a way of getting a .gps or ..tcx .tcr file to give turn by turn directions on Google Maps?

Can it be done? Does anyone do this?

Thanks,

outlash

also available in orange
Welcome to CC :smile:. You could use a site & app called Ride with GPS (GWGPS). You can import routes or make your own and use your phone for turn by turn navigation.

OSMAnd does what you want (assuming you are on android, the iphone version is a bit less featured). It's good because it can work offline, so it will keep working without a signal or if you are overseas, no roaming fees.

Google maps will only give you it's own directions. You might be able to force it to follow your route, if you specify enough intermediate points, but even then it might not work.

OP
OP
Stegabyte

Stegabyte

Jefmcg,
Thanks for that. I have downloaded it, but unfortunately, I am on iphone - I cant find an option for importing maps? I will have a play around and see what I can come up with.

Thanks,

OP
OP
Stegabyte

Stegabyte

You will be able to import maps, but it won't address your problem. Turn by turn directions aren't in the iPhone version yet
Damn, Damn and Damn!!!

Thanks anyway.

OP
OP
Stegabyte

Stegabyte

OSMAnd does what you want (assuming you are on android, the iphone version is a bit less featured). It's good because it can work offline, so it will keep working without a signal or if you are overseas, no roaming fees.