Gravel Tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Melv

I'm having problems navigating the minefield that is gravel tyres. I have been running some Panracer Gravelking 35's for a few months now and they ride great. However, at that size or bigger they only do tubeless compatible tyres and I don't want to run tubeless (maybe one day, but not yet) so this means they are incredibly difficult to get on/off the wheel. So what are everyone's recommendations for decent gravel tyres suitable for 50/50 road/gravel mixed riding.

Requirements are -

700c
Easy to put on / remove (so basically non-tubeless)
At least 35 width but preferably 38-40 ish.
Decent on the road as well as on light gravel (farm tracks etc - I'm not intending to do really heavy duty stuff, I've got my MTB for that)

Thanks is advance for the help.

MichaelO

Veteran
My Kinesis G2 came with Schwalbe G-ONE Allround (38s). I'm no expert on gravel tyres, but they've been great for a mix of light gravel and roads.

Mo1959

Legendary Member
My Merlin Gravel came with Clement X’Plor in 36 width. Only done one road ride so far and was really impressed at how well they rolled on tarmac, but look well capable of tackling gravel and light mud. Can’t tell you how easy they are to install/remove as I haven’t had to do it yet.

OP
OP
M

Melv

I have tubes in my Gravel Kings. It was easy. Whats your problem?

What size are your Gravelkings ? Anything above a 35, I think, are tubeless compatible. It took two of us to get the tyre on the rim and there is no way I could get it off / on if I was out on the road. They ride great and are perfect for what I use them for but really tough to get on / off the wheel.

Kestevan

Last of the Summer Winos
Challenge Gravel Grinder 38.
Absolutely cracking mixed use tyre. Brilliant on road and on most light off-road surfaces (not so good in the mud, but you cant have everything).

chriswoody

Legendary Member