Hello from Stockton on Tees

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi, newbie here. Restarted cycling a couple of years ago with an old style mountain bike. I always believed that there was no difference between my £120 bike and a more expensive one until I bought a £400 plus bike and was instantly converted. I would like some recommendations please for a second hand road bike as I find I seem to enjoy this style of riding too, however it seems a little slow on my mountain bike.

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
Hello Paul, welcome to Cyclechat!

I'm just a bit north of you. There are a few northerners on the forum.

I can't help with recommendations for a road bike but I do volunteer with a charity that recycles donated bikes and resells them. We often have road bikes available. We've shops in Newcastle & Durham but there may be a similar scheme near to you.

OP
OP
P

Paul Keating

I can't help with recommendations for a road bike but I do volunteer with a charity that recycles donated bikes and resells them. We often have road bikes available. We've shops in Newcastle & Durham but there may be a similar scheme near to you.
Thanks for that I'll try and have a look. Cheers Paul

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Thanks for that I may pop on to gum tree to have a look there. Wife says the budget for a bike needs to be around £175 tops.
On here that sort of figure would be grounds for divorce :laugh:.

Salar

A fish out of water
Welcome @Paul Keating

What MTB do you have.

Now I'm no roadie and don't know much, sorry anything, about modern road bikes.

However I seen this the other day when browsing, I know Barracuda made very poor BSO bikes in years gone by, but it seems they had a make over in 2014.