Hello from Temwa!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Temwa UK

Hi all,

A pleasure to join the Cycle Chat community!

My name is Becky, I work for a small Bristol based charity called Temwa that works to empower people in remote communities of Malawi to tackle the root causes of poverty and transform their own futures, sustainably and with self-sufficiency. I am one of the fundraising coordinators as well as events producer and finance assistant at the charity (it's a small team...!)

Each year we organise a charity cycle... this year I've opted to take part! I'm nervous as I'm new to long distance cycling, so it'll require some proper training, but I'm looking forward to the challenge. It takes place from 12th - 15th September and we'll be riding from Bangor, north west Wales, to Bristol.

We're still on the look out for more participants, in case it appeals to you! And any training advice for someone who has rarely ever used a road bike or been on long distance cycles is very much welcomed, too.

Thank you!

Becky :smile:

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Welcome Becky.

Mid Sept, means you have just under 3 months to get some practice in. I won't say training as that is a dirty word for me and makes it sound like an athletic challenge. What you actually need is to simply spend as much time as possible on a bike between now and then.