Helmet or not

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ronmac

I'm fairly new to cycling and can't decide wether to wear a helmet or not. It's not that I don't like wearing it, just that I like the feel of the fresh air about my head.
I definitely feel safer on the road when I wear it but is this a false sense of security as I'll probably get wiped out anyway if a fast moving vehicle hits me.
Conversely I feel I don't need it on cycle paths and yet I'm more likely to come off and bang my head when cycling on one of these.
I'd be interested to hear others opinions on all of this. I'm sure they'll be very varied but may help me decide.
Cheers. Ron.

bonj2

could be the difference between life and death, that's why i wear it.
can still feel the air about your head with vents. often the more expensive the helmet the more vents, so get a good flashy one..

Danny

Legendary Member
You may get more opinions than you bargained for on this one ;)

The question of whether or not to wear a helmet can is quite controversial in some quarters.

My personal view - based on the evidence I have read - is that wearing a helmet will protect you in some circumstances if you crash. Therefore I always wear one.

However you will find that there are a small number of cyclists who are vehemently opposed to helmets - partly because they think they are of no use, and partly because they are convinced that there is a big conspiracy out there to make helmet wearing compulsory.

upandover

Guru
It's a fairly uncontroversial topic really.

I think everyone pretty much agrees that you should absolutely always, almost certainly, maybe sometimes, perhaps when it snows, definitely never, wear a helmet.

upandover

Guru
ps - I wear one. Everything else aside it's a good place to put more lights / reflective stuff. Nothing like two torches in the face to get people to notice you as they approach a roundabout.

MajorMantra

upandover said: