Help on route north

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

berty bassett

Legendary Member
hi everybody - Has anyone any ideas on a quiet route inbetween Glasgow and Edinburgh up to JOG . I am trying to vary my course , i have the route back sorted by copying what i done couple of years back coming down west coast but i didn't really want to retrace route both ways , i will be on road bike so tracks are out and i am not a city rider i just wondered if anyone could reccomend a tried and tested route - on the plus side - i aint scared of hills if someone has a route with some bumps in it ^_^ thanks in advance

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Hi, have a look at this route from Glasgow to Edinburgh drawn by @Rasmus
It was excellent, mostly quiet roads, a few bearable hills.
If it does not suit (I'm no expert, mostly follow others) Rasmus will probably have more.

Rasmus

Without a clever title
How much "west coast" did you do on your previous trip? You have the option of taking ferries via Arran to Claonaig and then hugging the coast to Fort William. Adds some distance, but very scenic.

More centrally, the standard options are the A82 through Glencoe or the (cyclepath alongside) A9. A possible alternative could be to go via Braemar, although I believe this is quite hilly...

snorri

Legendary Member
I would suggest if not in a great rush you might consider the following modifications to the Amaferanga route in order to avoid the A9, which is fast, but I wouldn't consider it enjoyable to cycle on for the most part. Although there are considerable variations in traffic level depending on time and location.
Via Crieff and Amulree is good!
1. I suggest taking the side road from Logierait to Pitlochry rather than going on to Ballinluig and up the A9 dual carriageway.