Help with 1. hydraulic brakes & 2. raising handlebars

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

areyouactuallymoving

I was just going to put help with hydraulic brakes and handlebars, but thought people would expect the two things to be related.

I have just bought another bike, a Specialized Ariel https://www.evanscycles.com/specialized-ariel-hydro-disc-2018-womens-hybrid-bike-EV306288 which has hydraulic disc brakes. I've never used these before and managed to scare the sh*t out of myself coming down a big hill on my first proper ride out on it as the back wheel locked. I believe you're not supposed to hold the brakes on, but pump them, which is what I was doing. Is there a knack to using them, was I just braking too hard?

Also, the handlebars need raising, I am mechanically inept and I have read a few things saying that you should get handlebars adjusted by someone that knows what they are doing, is this sound advice?

Cheers

Nibor

Bewildered
For the brakes it is just a matter of developing a lighter touch no need to pump. Just practice.

As for the handlebars you are probably better leaving it to someone who is mechanical it isn't rocket science but you can get it wrong If you bought it new locally take it back to the shop and ask them.

vickster

Legendary Member
Is the stem flipped? If not try that first to raise the bars. Should be pretty upright on an Ariel though

Get Evans to help given they sold you the bike

OP
OP
A

areyouactuallymoving

Thanks for the quick replies. Will need to practice coming down those hills to avoid this :eek:

I got it from a LBS (well L -ish) not Evans, but they don't have a flashy website showing the bikes. I will return to them to fiddle with the handlebars.

SpokeyDokey

67, & my GP says I will officially be old at 70!