HGV close pass on "cycle paint" murder strip - A38 Almondsbury, Bristol

Discussion in 'Advocacy and Cycling Safety' started by Arjimlad, 13 Mar 2019.

1. Arjimlad

Arjimlad Tights of Cydonia

This pass has received a lot of attention on Twitter today & yesterday. (https://twitter.com/JimsWheels)

Tarmac have yet to come back to me with their thoughts. I am hoping it will finally get the council off their backsides to sort out the dangerous "cycle lane" which is adjacent to pinch points and narrowing dual carriageway lanes on this 40mph road. I have been asking them to make changes here since July 2017.

2. ianrauk

ianrauk Tattooed Beat Messiah

There's no way I would use that crappy lane. I would take the whole lane through there to stop any overtakes.

3. Eddy

Eddy Guru

It might not actually be a Tarmac lorry, I know a guy who owns 4 or 5 tippers and a few have Tarmac on them because he does a lot of work for them but he owns them.

Arjimlad and Reiver like this.
  4. Yep. Terrible driving but hold primary to avoid it happening again.

Edwardoka, dave r, PK99 and 2 others like this.
  5. Reiver

Reiver Ribbit Ribbit

plenty owner drivers on for them too, - tarmac should still be interested if they're running their livery, but always copy the Traffic Commissioners in with reg number etc. and always let whatever haulier you are writing too know you're involving the TC's fear of god and all that, hauliers/drivers never seem too bothered about police, but the TC's focus their mind, they have serious powers that can't easily be questioned.

6. Milkfloat

Milkfloat Veteran

This in spades, if the council do anything they will just end the cycle lane before the junction and then restart again after.

7. mjr

mjr Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next