Hills will be the death of me!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sillysimon10

Hello all!
Not so new to the forum, but this is my first post!
Just looking for a bit of advice when it come to hill climbs.
Long story short, im pretty new to road cycling, but can manage a half decent length ride...if its flat; But when hills come into the equation it cuts the distance I ride due to my brain thinking my legs are going to fall off!
I LOVE the burn, so just looking for a few tips to enhance my climbing ability, or is it a case of practice makes for closer to perfect.
Shall I do the same route and try and better my time etc...
Thanks in advance!
Happy cycling!
Simon (Warrington,Cheshire)

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
You just got to keep riding them hills.
They don't get easier you just get faster climbing them.

MarkF

Guru
I started off avoiding them all together, however, my first tour took me into the Yorks Dales..........was a crash course in climbing, particularly out of Settle, I still think about that one. Nowadays, climbing, sometimes it's a chore, other times, when I'm in the mood, I actively seek them out and love it.

Keep trying, there is no alternative.

Choose a gear with a decent spin rate.
Sit up and back in the saddle to put the work into the glutes
Prepare to feel pain.
If it gets too steep, try short bouts of standing but you'll need to up a gear or two to maintain your cadence then drop down one or two when you sit again.

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
Always remember for every hill you climb there is a downhill after it.
Tip wise I would say vary from seated to standing on the pedals.

This is quite a good video.

Gixer Rob

newish cyclist myself mate and at 15 stone and a bit :blush:,hills are not easy!!...
keep plugging away at them,it does get better (not much tho! :ohmy:)
personally I wouldnt ride the same route all the time..
itl get a bit boring....