How best to clip in the shoe at up slope.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

novetan

Über Member
I’m new to cleat and fell twice. I supposed every fall is a learning cycle and know why you fall. I take it positively but doesn’t like the scratch on my new carbon bike.

My question is: If you are riding on a long uphill slope (say 15% or 20%) and inadvertently you have to stop midway and restart. I find its quite impossible to clip the other leg in time to power up with both leg. Worse still if a high gear is engaged when you stopped. To spin with the other leg may not have enough strength to gain momentum due to high slope. So how best to engage the cleat to the other leg in such situation.

I know some expert may take a split sec to clip it. But as social rider, I may take between 2 to 3 sec to “find” the slot for the other leg. And not able to clip it will see myself come to an abrupt stop again.

Canrider

Guru
Depends on your pedals, but don't clip in until you're up and moving. Just push on the pedals as if they were flat, then worry about clipping in once you're moving fast enough to balance.

Steve H

Large Member
Some slopes are too steep to get going on!

First engage the gear you want. Do this by putting on the front brake, lifting the back wheel and turning the pedals whilst you are stood to the side of the bike and changing the gears to what you want.