How did I crack my carbon frame?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

QED

Hello, I'm a road cycling newbie with a question for the cyclechat hivemind:

The top tube of my Planet X Pro Carbon cracked in 3 places in the middle.

It was only 10 months old and still under warranty, but Planet X has refused to honour the warranty because they claim they have never seen such a break and it must have been caused by being improperly "clamped" or misused. I don't own a bike stand and have never clamped it to anything. It has been serviced by 2 reputable local bike shops that handle carbon frames every day. Planet X then said that the damage could have occurred from sitting on the top tube. I've never done that. I then thought it might be the Saris Bones 2 bike rack I used. I called the manufacturer and they assured me it was safe for carbon bikes. I have never crashed (on this bike).

Can anyone help me diagnose what, if anything, I might have done to cause the fracture on my top tube?

Thanks in advance for your help.

ayceejay

Guru
Clamping does sound like the most obvious I must say but I think it is something that needs closer inspection by an unbiased party, if Planet X won't have a look. perhaps you could post a photo?

Citius

I can see where they (PX) are coming from and I would probably have the same reaction initially. Further comment not possible without pics.

TheJDog

dingo's kidneys
My pro carbon frame cracked at the BB and they replaced it no questions asked. Sorry that's not all that helpful.

Globalti

Legendary Member