how do i improve my hills?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Slimzoe

Regular
Not sure if this is the right place, im not a beginner, been riding nearly 2 years, taking it seriously for a year, i love it and ive done a few charity rides (nightrider in london and 211 miles from wales to stonehenge) but,i am utterly rubbish on hills (Wales almost killed me!). i defeat myself before i start, convinced i cant do it, i plod at the slowest speed ever and i really want to improve (when i am out with the group and my OH i feel im holding them back) so how do i improve, is it just a case of keep plodding and it will come, or is there specific training i can do? i ride a trek lexa slx wsd.

welsh dragon

Thanks but no thanks. I think I'll pass.
I live in Wales and avoid them at all costs because I am rubbish. I can't do them, because I'm just not fit enough yet. Someone else will be able to help you though and will be along soon I'm sure.

Last edited:

Steve H

Large Member
Fortunately and unfortunately the answer to your question is fairly easy:-

In order to get better at riding up hills, do more riding up hills.

I'm sorry there is no miracle cure for this one, you just have to get out there and do more riding.

At nearly 17 stone, I've always struggled with the Yorkshire hills that surround where I live. I go out with a club quite regularly and always get whooped on the hills. Been riding more over the winter though and I'm getting better at them. The more miles I get in and the more hill work I have done the better I am on the hills.

I guess I could lose a load of weight to help with climbing, but I don't seem to have the discipline required. If you have better eating discipline, then this will also make a difference as there is less of you to drag up the hill.