How do you change gears on a Brompton six speed?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sara_H

Guru
Hello all,

My M6L is due to arrive on Monday. :hyper:

I'm a bit befuddled about the gears though. I've little experience with hub gears and to add a derailleur in makes me go :wacko:

So if I'm pootling along down hill, but approaching a hill, how do you go from high to low?

Last edited:

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
I'm sure you'll have no problems, Sara. It didn't take me long to get used to it.

After you've used it a few times I recommend checking the little screw adjustment thingy that regulates the hub gears. Mine came unscrewed and meant I couldn't change gear. It's dead easy to put back together but it's a bit of a shock when you think something has broken!

shouldbeinbed

Rollin' along
I'm sure you'll have no problems, Sara. It didn't take me long to get used to it.

After you've used it a few times I recommend checking the little screw adjustment thingy that regulates the hub gears. Mine came unscrewed and meant I couldn't change gear. It's dead easy to put back together but it's a bit of a shock when you think something has broken!

Good advice, my gear cable slipped completely after a couple of hundred miles too, left me stuck in gear and wondering if there was something more serious gone astray. Luckily not but sounds like they are prone to newness niggles. I know it's unlikely to be wrong but check the brake blocks are properly tightened up too, my front ones fell to pieces luckily going uphill mid ride again after a couple of hundred miles, There was a slight clattering noise as the screw fell out and the blocks were hanging loose then the block and washers were behind me on the road.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Easy explanation.