How many of us are there?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Since I joined the forum in 2009 the number of people posting on fixed and single speed has shot up, my question is this; how many of us ride fixed or ss most of the time? Which? How long have you been riding? How many of the fairer sex? What is your average weekly / monthly or yearly mileage. What gear inch do you ride? Finally, what biker you riding
I will start, fixed, more than 90% of the time, last 8 years continuously, ave between 7 & 10,000 miles per year.
75" gear. 2 bikes, Pearson Touche and Brian Rourke steel 853.
My better half dr_pink, around 60% of the time, fixed, 6 years, 80 - 120 miles per week in winter less than 50 in summer, 69" gear, unbranded very pink bike.
Just curious.

andyfraser

Über Member
I'm new to riding fixed, only a few weeks. I plan to commute on my fixed gear when we move offices. It was meant to be next week but has been pushed back by a couple of weeks. At the moment I only ride fixed at weekends but I love it and go out when I can. My gearing is 72.5".

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
I ride fixed every day, and have done for seven or eight years. Used to do a 7 miles each way commute, but now I work from home, so it's down to about 2 miles each way to the swimming pool. Mind, that does involve a serious hill en route. Weekends I usually take a longer ride, tho' still only 10 miles or so - but again with pretty serious hilliness. Can't imagine ever stopping, tho' I guess realistically I'll have to one day. (I'm 54 now.) Bike is an old Olmo - '70s, I believe - built up from a frame bought on ebay. Bloke who sold it me said - and caveated with 'I don't know if it's true' - that the guy he'd bought it from said it had started out owned by the Italian national track racing team.It's certainly a lovely bike! No idea what gearing. Quite high I think.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman