How much would you spend on an aftershave?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Accy cyclist

Legendary Member
I sometimes wear Joop! Because it reminds me of my student days, it was my first proper scent as a 17th birthday present. It's quite cheap, not too overpowering and lasts for quite a while.
Not how I've experienced it on others! I've never sniffed it subtly. The times I've smelt it on someone it seems they've put half the bottle on in one go!!xx(

When I was a teacher I got landed with a group of 6th formers and told to 'do something about finance' - and about 2 minutes warning

I got them to research the student 'loans' and then work out a budget that would not overspend for the length of the whole term

We split everything into essential, needed, wanted, luxury or some such thing

One boy had aftershave in Essential
at £30 a WEEK

he had a bit of trouble getting his budget to balance

Personally my total spend on aftershave is negative - I have several years worth of Christmas 'men's stuff' boxes - some of which contain aftershave

I can;t use it - gives me a rash

mustang1

Guru
Ive never used after shave for the purpose of post shaving.

However i do use various scents (idk if that is EdT, aftershave, perfume or whatever you call it). Whatever its called, i occasionally use it in the evenings.

How much? I keep it around £50-100. I usually have less than three bottles of various scents but currently have 4 and they usually last a few years. Idk how many ml they are.

I have a passionate dislike of scents. It's like smoking to me, totally antisocial in that what you enjoy everyone else has to suffer. Passive scenting you could say.

If you don't think it causes any harm I can tell you that I've had the beginnings of an asthma attack because of someone's artificial scent and she or he hadn't put that much on!

Smoking, valine and scenting should be done in a chemical fume cupboard not in public.