How to change gears ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ploglim

Hi,
I received a road bike from friends of ours that apparently hasn't been used for decades. Photos are attached.
I have no idea how to change gears even though there appears to be multiple gears. Is this due to the glue-looking stuff on the handlebar?
I'm quite new to the bicycle world and am looking forward to people enlightening me :smile:.
Good day.

IMG_20240402_195911.jpg

IMG_20240402_195855.jpg

IMG_20240402_195904.jpg

IMG_20240402_195920.jpg

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
The little levers on the down tube change the gears.
The one on the left will work the front derailuer, moving between the large and small Chainrings.
The one on the right moves the rear derailuer and changes gear on the rear wheel.
You have to be pedaling for the gear changes to happen.

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
See those two levers on the downtube just above where it says Olympic? They're the gear levers

Left is for the front - it changes between the two chainrings. Pull it back to go to the bigger ring (higher gear) push it forward to go to the smaller (lower gear).

Right lever is for the back, it changes between the sprockets on the back wheel. Pull it back to go to a bigger sprocket (lower gear) push it forward to go to a smaller sprocket (higher gear)

Think of the two chainrings as gear ranges. You'll change this less frequently. They aren't actually two distinct ranges because they overlap a lot, but that's the best way to think about them. Just keep it in the little ring (where it is) while you get going.

You have to be moving and pedalling when you change gear. Don't move the lever when stationary. When you do move a lever keep pedalling, but gently - slack off the power a bit.