How To Improve Commuter Safety (Tell me your pain points and wildest ideas)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TheSudsySender

Hi everyone!

I am a Product Design student taking on the task of improving Commuter cyclist safety for my Final Year Project.

My aim is to create a product that will reduce the occurrence of cyclist accidents in the urban commuter environment. I am hoping to gain some direct insight into the issues that commuter cyclists feel are most important. I would also love to share the progress of my Final Year Project with you all and I will gladly welcome any and all constructive criticism along the way.

So with that outta the way...

To those who are interested, I would like to ask a few things:

- What are the biggest safety issues you feel you face as a commuter cyclist?

- Have you/Do you use any safety products and if so, do you have any favorites (or least favorites) and why?

- If you don't use safety products then why not? Too expensive? Annoying? Etc.

- Have you any ideas for features that you would find useful for commuter bike safety (I know there'll be a few funny ones and I can't wait to read them but it would be awesome to have some serious ones too!)

The features I am currently considering implementing in my design are;

- A rearview mirror-esque system that allows you to see what is happening behind you without having to look over your shoulder (considering implementing into a helmet or maybe handlebar-mounted system)

-As a follow on function from the above idea; there could be a vibration/light/sound alert that would draw riders attention

- An indicator system that can either be controlled via bar-mounted buttons/dedicated grips with incorporated buttons/or synced with a navigation system that automatically turns indicators on when coming to junction

Let me know what you think! Really appreciate any input and I hope you all have an amazing day!!!

classic33

Leg End Member
Safety issue.