Hybrid bike for beginners

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

noblefish

Hi everyone!

Another newbie bike post. Im a cycling newbie who has no experience riding and would like to get started. I'm a 151 cm female and hope to eventually use the bike for riding in the city and trails outside. The sheer number of options and reviews are doing my head in. Any advice on a first bike is appreciated. I'm also unsure if i should splurge on a first bike or get a used one off gumtree/ebay to see how i fare.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
:welcome: Top tip: ride before you buy.

A used bike will give you a better bike for the money, but it's better if you can take with you someone who knows how to check over a bike and you are always taking a slight risk of it being a lemon or having had a previous owner do something silly to it.

Safe options for new bikes are the better chains like Decathlon and Evans. If you can give an idea of what area you're in, someone may be able to suggest suitable local bike shops.

Personally, I wouldn't splurge on a first bike because until you ride a bit, you might not know what you want from a bike. I prefer mine to have mudguards, a rack and classic saddle (often sprung), but others don't seem to worry about such things.

www.cyclingForTransport.com might give you some ideas or ask more questions here.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Hi @noblefish and welcome to CC.
Before you buy, try to test ride as many bikes as you can, to have an idea of what you like.
Evans and a few other chains will let you test ride for a refundable deposit.
Some local bike shops will too, well, here anyway, they do.
Try riding friends or family member's bikes if they are around your height (different bike sizes).
You could also ask at your local cycling hub, sometimes you're allowed to borrow a bike.

Reactions: mjr