hybrid byke for £200

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

doyouknow

I am a beginner and I am planninmg to buy a hybrid bike. I have a budget of about £200. I would be using my bike mainly for commuting to office which is about 5 miles away from my home. I would like to hear some good advices on a bike I should buy. I have found Carrera Crossfire at Halfords a good buy. I also looked for Ralieigh Pioneer Metro from Evans. I have been also looking at Decathlon Btwin bikes. I am really confused and I cannot make up my mind. I would to hear some good expert advices and help me choose my bike. Thank you.

Halford staff/ sales in general have a bad rep but their Carrera Subway (£185 at the mo) has a good reputation; you'll find plenty opinions on both on this site if you look around.

Ivan Ardon

Mrs A has the ladies Crossfire. It's not a bad bike, but suffers from a few cost cutting measures - the tyres are junk, the rim tapes aren't up to the job and the suspension seatpost wears quickly. These are all easily and cheaply fixed though and the basic bike is sound. It does have front suspension, but it's not too intrusive. I notice it's gone up in price, we paid £170 last year, it'll come down after Christmas no doubt.

For £170, it's better than most of what's out there for the money.

PrettyboyTim

I can't really compare it with the other mentioned bikes, but the June before last I bought a Claud Butler Urban 100 for £200 and have spent the last year and a half riding to work and back on it - around 7 miles each way. I guess I must have done a little over 5000 miles on it so far. It's a little bit on the heavy side, but I enjoy riding it and it's served me well. I guess it could be said that having not ridden any other recent bikes (apart from a quick tryout at the bike shop) I may be riding a crap bike and just simply not know what I'm missing, but I've enjoyed the last year and half of riding, and I guess that's what counts.