I hold my head in despair!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Noahs_arc

Regular
I'm new to cycling (6 months) and often use this forum for 'hints and tips' and I respect the views of the cyclists that come on here and post their thoughts!

BUT BUT!! man what is ongoing with the debate about the pros and cons of wearing a helmet or not? This is p***ing me off. I see the thread/subject has been active for a while now.

We all know that we see these seasoned bikers riding around parading in some pseudo retro Italian cloth cap. Looks cool? I don't think so! Is this image telling kids (and other confused folk) that it's acceptable NOT to wear a helmet? It kinda does, doesn't it!? If he can, I can!?

I cant give out much advice about cycling, but one thing I can advise on is wearing a helmet. I work for the NHS, in and around one of the six major trauma centres in London, ....yes we get all kind of head injuries (some bloke painting the O2 falls off his ladder bang he lands on his head). Closer to home, earlier in the week we had a 32 year old male, established biker, commutes to work, on his usual route and approaching a mini-roundabout an elderly gentleman in his car pulls out on the cyclist <bang> the bike hits the car head on (no swerve or reaction time possible) the momentum has flipped the cyclist into the air who then lands full on to his helmet and shoulder, his helmet took the full impact. The car had a massive dent in the bonnet (I was told by the ambulance team). His helmet (high end MET) split into three pieces (it looked nasty) and his skull was cracked in a C shape. So he was rushed into the trauma unit to initially stem and relieve the internal bleeding and to, bottom-line, save his life! Spine ok?