Inconsiderate Drivers

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

C R

Guru
Karma - is now what I say instead of a load of expletives to a driver who probably didn't hear me anyway. It worked for Earl Hickey ^_^
I think you misspelled camera ;).

I'm not very good at the staying calm thing ... but one philosophy I heard that helps:

Regard every hazard on the road the same; just random sheet that you need to plan for, mitigate, deal with, etc.
Treat bad drivers like gravel, or potholes, or deer crossing; being angry about them won't stop them happening the next time you ride your bike. They're just one (small) part of the challenge of riding safely and smoothly to where you're going. Take satisfaction in arriving safely, and anticipating every hazard en-route :angel:

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Works, causes total confusion. :laugh:

fossyant

Anyway, I restored the fine balance of Karma on my lunch road ride.

Riding out of the village a HGV driver hung back patiently as the road wasn't great for passing, and there were a few parked cars. As soon as I could, I hopped onto the pavement (no peds) and this enabled him to pass with a 'toot toot' and a wave from me. Delayed me by a second or two.

No pedestrians were harmed in restoring karma.

fossyant

We've had some real good reactions to smile and wave, especially on group rides. Speed past, blasting their horns, then you all wave and shout 'hiya' - total confused look, and usually a finger, but it's funny.

Equally had instances where we were cut up, and one of the lads was a track sprinter, so took off after the car - he caught them and the argument was in full flight by the time the rest of us arrived, only then the driver buggered off sharpish.

fossyant