Indecision: Why Road over Hybrid?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

aces_up1504

Basically i one of the indecisive people on this earth.

I had sort of settled on a road style hybrid, but was thinking last night, if 90-95% of my cycling will be on the road, why not get a road bike and use the old MTB for anything off road.

Does that make clear thinking? Or is spending £500 on a road bike bonkers for a total newbie?

Why should i go for a road bike over a say Specialized Sirrus?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
That's quite clear thinking.

Road bike handle much better and are more suitable for longer distances due to the handle bars (hybrids would need bar ends). Hybrids do come in various varieties, from those that are basically a flat bar road bike - i.e. quick, to those that are more like a MTB, so it can be as 'clear as mud' sometimes.

£500 would get you a good bike.

Personally, I have 1 MTB and three road bikes, just wouldn't have a need for a hybrid. The MTB can be fitted with slicks, and off road tyres.

OP
OP
A

aces_up1504

Why are Road bikes much more comfortable than a road style hybrid? I have seen this statement quite a bit but without much reason?

At what sort of distance does the road bike really overtake a hybrid?

defy-one

I have a fast road hybrid specialized sirrus ... good for road commuting,park rides and soft off roading, and two road bikes.
That covers all my needs.
If you only use roads and decent cycle paths get a a proper road bike

Norm

More comfort because there are more hand positions on the bars. The frame geometry is almost infinitely.variable.in different styles & designs so you can choose one to suit your expectations (fast, comfortable, multi-surface, tarmac.... etc) so its impossible to say road is better than 'hybrid' *spit* after xx miles, but drop bar bikes offer more hand positions.