Indoor Trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

greggp

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and have just recently got back into road biking in the last couple of years. I have now just purchased an indoor trainer the wahoo kickr core and have used it with zwift and rouvy apps. I do prefer the rouvy app as I like to see real outdoor riding and this seems the best realistic outdoor version I've come across.

I have yet to buy a speed sensor or heart rate monitor. I was hoping to be able to use my Samsung Galaxy 4 smart watch to monitor heart rate but this won't connect to the rouvy app unfortunately.

When I ride outdoors I use the Strava app (non subscription) which syncs to my Samsung health app and I can view my cycling data on either app platform once synced.

I am now thinking i'd like to invest in a cycling computer for outdoors, something like a Garmin 530. Wondered if there was any benefit of getting one of these over my current equipment, obviously it would be handy for navigation etc I guess.

I wondered what devices everyone else uses for the indoor and outdoor training please?

Indoor i use an iPad which connects to the sensors that i need. Outdoor i prefer a bike specific computer (Wahoo) but all are pretty decent these days. Advantage vs the phone is usually, smaller, less likely to break vs a phone and battery will last longer. Some may even argue that they are lighter than a phone but then carry a phone with them anyway....

Garmin, Wahoo are probably the most popular 2 brands. If you do really want it for navigation then a bigger screen and brighter display are helpful. I prefer to get lost and have a longer battery life...

13 rider

Guru
Is the kicker core a wheel off trainer ,if so no need for a speed monitor for indoor riding and for zwift if your not racing no need for a HRM either . Ridgeway has covered the advantages for an dedicated bike computer, another wahoo user .