Info on Cycle Chat that changed your cycling.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
On reading that our very own @fossyant had an off and is currently in hospital, my thoughts went back to a few years ago, when, as a newbie, I had fallen off on ice and asked for advice.
He took the time to explain about studded tyres - I had never heard about them before - posted a few links, answered my questions.
It was my first winter of cycling: without @fossyant's advice, I would have probably stopped cycle commuting then, and who knows if I would have taken it back up in spring. I'm now into my 5th winter!
Another of my CC heros is @SatNavSaysStraightOn: after meeting her I realized that I should stop moaning about my age and get on with tackling hills more.
The ride reports by @Rickshaw Phil made me realize you don't need fancy carbon bikes to achieve long distances, my first (and only!) 100 miles was inspired by him.
So, what info on CC influenced your cycling in a big way, and do you remember the poster, have you subsequently managed to meet them in person?

Suggested tags: cycling heroes, cycling mentors.

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
No matter how long we've been at this and how much knowledge we brought here with us I think we've all learnt things we didn't know before. Many people here have taught me things I never knew.

Glow worm

Legendary Member
I'm probably more assertive on the road than before. I'd never heard of the 'primary', 'secondary' stuff though all common sense I suppose. I'd also never consciously recognised the importance of the shoulder check before either. I certainly do that a whole lot more now.
I also have Crankarm to thank for making me realise that there are some even more miserable buggers out there than me ^_^.

Last edited:

Tail End Charlie

Well, write it down boy ......