Intermodality Problems for Cyclists

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Vera

Hello!

I am a student, and currently doing an innovation research project at the Vienna University of Business and Economics. The objective is to find how the problems of intermodal transportation might be solved.

Cyclist commuters face this problem as noone else! I would be really happy to hear if you guys provide your opinion and ideas on it. What do you guys consider as a good solution? May be anyone of you developed interesting IT or design solutions or has any ideas what actually could be done?

I'm looking forward to hearing from you!
Thanks and best wishes from Vienna!

Vera

sheddy

Legendary Member
Sorry Vera, but what is intermodal transportation and how would IT help ?

C

chillyuk

At a guess and I am happy to be corrected, I would have thought intermodal means different modes of transport, cars, lorries, bikes, buses, trains etc.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
Sorry Vera, but what is intermodal transportation and how would IT help ?

Where more than one type of transport is used for a journey.

E.g. Boris bikes and then tube. Which has apps you can use on smart phones to locate docking stations and availability = IT solution :thumbsup:.

Sadly, very little intermodal transport in the UK in terms of things being 'integrated'.

C

chillyuk

E.g. Boris bikes and then tube. Which has apps you can use on smart phones to locate docking stations and availability = IT solution :thumbsup:.

Sadly, very little intermodal transport in the UK in terms of things being 'integrated'.

Well, I wasn't too far off the mark :rolleyes:

<Question>

Clothing