Internet connection problem

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
This morning when I was on the internet a box appeared on screen “An error occurred ” and to press ok Which I did and then it crashed.Since then even though it is is saying i am connected to wi-fi I am still unable to connect to the internet with websites saying “This site can’t be reached” and saying underneath “The connection was reset”
I have tried all the normal things like rebooting the router but to no avail.
All our devices are down and I am only able to write this as I am using mobile data.
Anyone got any answers please?

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
I think maybe you have a........ virus? :whistle:

Seriously though, what else did the box say, any codes? And why did you click ok before you knew what you were clicking ok for?

If all devices can no longer connect to the wifi it sounds like the router settings have been changed. I'm no expert but my fear would be that your internet connection has been hacked in some way.

1st thing I would try would be to unplug and disconnect all wires from the wifi hub and router and leave it for 5 minutes before trying again.

As above, first step is to unplug then reboot the modem/router.

When it starts up again click on the wifi settings and see what it says - it is possible to be connected but not have wifi.

Then contact your service provider

Good luck!

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Check your broadband provider's status page. Some have been unstable the last few days. Might be the unusual traffic flows from so many at home.

If nothing shows, are you happy to tell us who so someone might look for reports not immediately obvious to the public?

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Check your broadband provider's status page. Some have been unstable the last few days. Might be the unusual traffic flows from so many at home.