Is the Specialized Venge worth the price tag?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mattjamesclarke

Hello,

I’ve been cycling for a couple of years, I really enjoy it.

My current bike is a 2016 - Trek 1.2 series. It has served me well but I’m wanting more of a road race style biycle.

I really like the Specialized Venge, but most sites sell it for 3k. E.g. below:

https://velocollective.co.uk/product/specialized-venge-expert-disc-2018-road-bike/

Do you cycling experts think it’s worth the money or should I consider something like the Ribble R872? Half the price!?

Suggestions for other bikes welcome too.

Matt

mustang1

Guru
I think everything is too expensive.

I haven't read your thread but these threads usually go along the lines of someone wants a bike but need a bit of convincing. So just get it. If I wanted it, if just get it.

Edit. Now I read your thread :smile:

The thing is if you buy the Ribble then may be you'll carry on thinking about the venge. If you buy venge, then you can sleep easy. Therefore does being date, it's the better buy.

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
I think everything is too expensive.

I certainly think anything in four figures is complete overkill for anyone but a professional racer. The blurb in the link is going on about aerodynamics. Well, unless you race for a living, aerodynamics don't matter a monkey's anyway - and are certainly not worth paying £3k for. The limiting performance factor for a leisure cyclist will almost always be the rider, not the bike. Therefore spending a big chunk of money is pointless because the rider's ability will never come near that of the bike.
I've been out today on a £12 bike. Would I have been significantly faster on a £3k bike? Would it be a lot more comfortable? No on both counts; any difference would have been marginal.

Kempstonian

Has the memory of a goldfish