Ladies saddle.....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

florencethnurse

253BE448-2397-4B09-97E9-A59126FECE64.jpeg

I need some advice from the experts, I’m quite new to cycling I have now got proper cycle shorts but I’m not comfortable with my saddle , my ‘sit bones’ are obviously a bit larger than average but I don’t want a huge chuff off saddle just one that’s comfortable ....
This is my bike....

vickster

Legendary Member
Measure your sit bones or get a bike shop to and get the right width saddle

You may not have sit bones as wide as you think even if you are on the larger size :smile:

What saddle is it (Bontrager?) How is it uncomfortable? Is it at the right height and angle (flat a good plaxe to start)

You may also just need more time to get used to being on a saddle

Last edited:
^^^ this.

There are DIY guesstimate ways to measure your sit bones if you can't get to a LBS with an "assometer". You want your sit bones to be perching on the saddle.

Is the discomfort on your sit bones, or is it on the lady bits. If the latter, tilt the nose of the saddle down a little and see if it makes a difference.

Ultimately, everyone's bottom is different, so what works for one person might not necessarily work for another.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
As a rough guide your leg should about straight sitting on the saddle with the pedal in the six o'clock position.

You might just need a bit more saddle time for you to acclimatise. Having said that the one supplied could certainly be improved upon with an upgrade.

Possibly my OH thinks it could be a tad higher .....

Try it and see. It's amazing sometimes how much difference just a small tweak can make... :okay:

Always best to try the cheapest option first - in this case tinkering around costs nothing bar a bit of time.

In terms of actual saddles, I find a Charge Ladle saddle works well for me, but saddles, like shorts, are just so personal. What works for me might not work for you.