london-Marrakesh fixed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

james.rh

hi, i am an 18year old student currently living in london. In 3 weeks time i am setting of to morroco on my fixed gear bianchi (which i bought off an old man for £30). I will be travelling alone for the 2500 mile route which i have chosen, carrying the minimum ammont possible- about 5kg. i would be very grateful for any advice from anyone who has either done this or a simular route or any experienced fixed gear tourers. is there anything particualy vital which i should take. also is it worth getting a rabies jab?

samid

Guru
Not to sound smartass or anything but if you're leaving on a 2500 mile fixed gear ride to Africa in 3 weeks with 5kgs of gear - isn't it a bit too late to ask for advice on what to take?

andym

Über Member
Hi

You might want to look at this blog

http://pompinos.blogspot.com/

Scroll down to the beginning for the stuff about what stuff they took. Note they rode singlespeed.

I did ask him 'how did you manage to reach a top speed of 73 km/h on a fixed bike - weren't your feet going round rather fast?' and he pointed out that they did the ride on singlespeeds rather than fixed. I'd have thought that one of the issues with a fixed, apart from the obvious one of getting up long hills, would be the issue of getting down them again. So, apart from anything else, and at risk of sounding like your Dad, make sure you have front and rear brakes.

I'd also take a nice big spare sprocket so that you've got a bail out option.

Good luck.

samid

You're right, but weren't you 18 ever? ;-)

OP
OP
J

james.rh

samid said:
Not to sound smartass or anything but if you're leaving on a 2500 mile fixed gear ride to Africa in 3 weeks with 5kgs of gear - isn't it a bit too late to ask for advice on what to take?