Long Mynd to Bradford, 1976

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
This is purely from memory: I kept no diary and took no photos.

Anyone who saw my mention "34 years ago" on the thread in Support and Feedback, sorry! I counted the years wrong, must have been thinking this was still 2010! Should be "35 years ago".

This was the final day of a 5-day tour of England, when I was in my mid-20s. The idea was, set off from Bradford (where I was a student), two days to get down to my Mum's house in Surrey, then a longer 3-day loop to get back to Bradford.

Overnights were at Youth Hostels, to save on money and baggage. I was on my cherished Pennine, 531 road/tourer (its first year out), frameset hand built by none other than Johnny Mapplebeck (of Whitaker and Mapplebeck in Bradford) himself! Anyone else remember him? Splendid frame, though he was past his prime and not in the best of health, when he built mine.

I'll leave out the first 4 days for the very good reason that I can't remember much about them! All I know was, the first leg was Bradford to Copt Oak (near Leicester), second: Copt Oak to Redhill, third Redhill to Stow-on-the-Wold, fourth Stowe-on-the-Wold to Ratlinghope. So we come to Day 5.

What's memorable about summer 1976? Why, the famous drought of course: the hottest and driest summer on record. My tour was just at the beginning of the long dry spell, the first three days were rather drizzly but then it all got scorching hot for the last two days.

So I had some misgivings as I peered out of the Ratlinghope YH, in the grey morning, at the cloudless sky. A long way to go (subsequent calculations make it 130 miles, my longest ever day)!