Looking for my first hybrid

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pete146

Hi

I'm new here, and just looking for some total beginner advice!

I haven't owned a bike since I was 16 - over 20 years ago. My memories include forever putting chains back on, repairing punctures, and trying to stop brakes squeaking!

I realise that things have moved on a LOT. I started researching bikes online today and realised that I was entirely lost.

I wouldn't be using a bike to commute, or train, or race, or climb mountains. It would be to go for leisurely bike rides with my family, and occasionally to get to the shops rather than taking the car. Maybe in the future an hour long blast on my own after work. So, I'd use it on the road (but not particularly quickly), on grass, on bridle paths etc. Based on what I've read, I think a hybrid is the way to go?

I really don't want t spend a fortune - but neither do I want to be constantly having to maintain the bike. I love the idea of a belt rather than a chain, and a gear hub - but I think these things may be beyond my budget.

So, having read lots of reviews - the below are bikes that I am considering going to look at:

B'Twin - Riverside 500 or 900
Carrera - Crossfire 2 or 3, Subway 2,
VooDoo - Marasa

These are all £200-£400

OR, I could push the boat out and look at a Boardman for £500-£600 - The MX Comp, MX Sport, Hybrid comp.

In my situation, where would you recommend I start??? Do any of these bikes stand out as 'better than the rest' for my needs? Do any of them have any particular bad points? Would I notice the difference if I paid the extra for a Boardman? Am I better looking at the B'Twin simply to avoid Halfords?

Any help and advice you can offer would be appreciated. Thanks in advance :smile:

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello pete and welcome. All are good but there are a few points to consider.