Making Models From Scratch

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
Reynard

Reynard

Guru
That's looking beautiful; you can tell it's built by an engineer.

Thank you :blush:

And as an engineer, I'm really appreciating Colin Higman's handiwork. Circuit racing people do tend to pooh-pooh the short oval side of things, but the truth is, these cars, though rather basic compared to even a FF1600 car, are incredibly well designed and put together. Colin was one of the foremost chassis builders of Superstox / F2 stock cars until he was diagnosed with dementia.

The husband of a friend collaborated with him on a project to build a custom F2 stock car, and said the man was an absolute genius. He was also a damn good racer in his day as well...

OP
OP
Reynard

Reynard

Guru
Progress over the last couple of weeks has been slow and steady. Which is a good thing, as it's given me the time to think the processes through. One of my failings is that sometimes I've tried to do things too quickly - and then have to redo things as a result. Anyways, the big news is that the bodywork (barring the roof) is finally complete.

Note that I've made a temporary roof that allows the construction wires to poke through. The reason is to give me a visual reference for the sides of the cab. Oh, and I did have a bit of fun with this, as I've painted it up with the National Champion's stripes. :becool:

I didn't take any work-in-progress photos unfortunately, but barring the rear panel, which is just a simple piece of card with tabs, the cab sides (upper and lower) were made using the same method - a card and wire frame, and then building up the curved surfaces with small pieces of paper / card. The lower panels for the cab are actually made in three sections and then glued together prior to covering with the paper skin. It was just easier to do it that way when it came to taking all the angles into account.