Making Models From Scratch

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
So as not to clog up the Mundane News thread with the minutiae of my 1:10 scale Higman Superstox project, thought I'd start a new thread on the ins and outs of scratch-built models.

I have to confess that I'm a modelling newbie - my only previous experience is with a few cheap plastic kits well over three decades ago. You know, the ones that never fit together right, where the glue doesn't set completely and the paint and decals refused to stay put... My background is in automotive engineering, so the design work itself isn't the issue. Where I could use advice is in making that leap from drawings on a page to actually making parts. So methods, materials, hints and tips, that sort of thing, from heads wiser than mine.

Was hoping to make the main part of the chassis (which includes the mount points for the side irons and front & rear bumpers) from fibreboard. Unfortunately the piece that I have is warped, which means it's no go. The alternative I have to hand is 5mm thick plywood, but am not sure if it is the right material for what is a pretty complicated shape.

higman_05.jpg

This piece is the structural "backbone" of the whole model, so I have to get it right...

Oh, and this is what I'm trying to build... (#221)

49690872_n.jpg

Last edited:

HMS_Dave

Grand Old Lady
I used to build Airfix models when i was younger. I was never good enough to go from scratch. I lost touch with it until this past Xmas when i brought my lad an RC Car. It's sort of caused an itch again if im honest that may need to be scratched.

I for one am looking forward to your progress.

Looking forward to seeing how you get on.

I've always liked ships and had the idea of building a model. I looked at the price of wood kits and ruled that out as being far too expensive for something I wasn't sure I'd be able to do.

I came across an old plan of a Scottish steam drifter and decided to have a go.