Motivation for commuting in the winter?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ishaqmir

Hi everyone

I’m fairly new to road cycling, started about 6 months ago.

I’ve got a decent bike and all the winter clothing I’d need for cold and rain. Even the commute from Solihull to Coventry and back is a nice country route. And I only do that on Sunday’s as well.

But the weather and all is causing one thing to be missing, MOTIVATION! Arghhh

having to wake up earlier, missing the heated seat in the car, etc, etc, how do you all do it?

come on! I need some motivation! Please!

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
Don't feel you need to do it every day, choose the dry (drier) days to start with, then by March you'll be into the swing and ready to do every day. Good lights and mudguards especially and potentially panniers (rather than a backpack) will make it a more pleasant experience. Can you drive/train part of the way and cycle the rest? Or leave car at work so you can do just one way?

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Heated seat? I'd cycle just to avoid such torture devices ;)

It helps that driving is about as slow as cycling my usual route, the bus slower still and car parking more expensive unless you park so far away that it's slower than cycling! I guess they've got the incentives about right here.

Slick

Guru
I only commute twice weekly in winter and 3 times come the spring which is plenty for me. Not 100% sure where the motivation comes from other than I usually start to feel rubbish if I'm too long off the bike and with lots of other stuff going on, it's sometimes my only chance of getting a ride in.

cosmicbike

Perhaps This One.....