My Bicycle Touring Plans for 2014! Where are you off to?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jhawk

Veteran
Spring is finally here in Atlantic Canada! (It only took too long!) But that means I can finally get out on my bike and begin to ride! :smile:

Since this is my first year of properly getting into bike touring, I'm always open to any comments, suggestions, constructive criticism, and anything else you guys might have for me in all your vast experiences! :smile:

Decided to write an article about it!

http://jackonabike.ca/2014/04/07/2014-bike-touring-plans/

HelenD123

Guru
My tips: don't take the 104 down to Fundy National Park. Tourist Information sent me that way but it was very busy. There's also a massive hill out of Alma.

Could you head over to Quebec? The route verte from the Quebec/New Brunswick border to Riviere du Loup was gorgeous and off road. Have a look at the journal in my signature for some pics and ideas.

OP
OP
jhawk

jhawk

Veteran
My tips: don't take the 104 down to Fundy National Park. Tourist Information sent me that way but it was very busy. There's also a massive hill out of Alma.

Could you head over to Quebec? The route verte from the Quebec/New Brunswick border to Riviere du Loup was gorgeous and off road. Have a look at the journal in my signature for some pics and ideas.

Hi Helen,

Thanks for the route advice, and the journal reference! I will most certainly check that out! :smile:

In terms of me getting into Quebec this Summer, honestly I don't know. We'll have to see. I do know that I'll be spending a lot of time in Quebec next year, as I'm cycling across Canada and Quebec is a HUGE province to go through. But it's apparently one of the best ones for bike touring - the infamous Route Verte, as you've mentioned.

I'll check out your journal, thanks again. :smile:

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
I've driven down the gorge, and decided then that I'd be back to ride it when I had the chance.