My first recumbent, I regret nothing.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
So on Friday, after many weeks researching recumbents I bought my first. I say first, because I can see me acquiring others over the coming years. I had a looooong drive from Doncaster to the far side of Cardif, 200 miles, 4 hours. Anyway, after a brief test ride I handed over the readies and got myself a near mint, hardly used 2010 Bacchetta Strada. I went for a 12 mile round trip to B&Q yesterday (to get kit to fashion a head rest) and after a wobbly start I soon felt quite confident. Setting off is still a bit of a challenge, especially with the spds, but I'm getting there. I did notice that it wasn't dropping into 9th gear, but I've adjusted it out and though it's dropping in, it sounds a bit 'rattley'. Mind you, that's when it's hung up, so it may disappear on the road under load. I've no experience with SRAM ever (X7 fitted on Strada) as all my bikes are Shimano, but it looks like the only fine adjustment is from the gripshifter. So, here's a pic or 2. I've made the headrest, fitted the rear rack/panniers/top bag, spd dual sided pedals, front and rear lights, mounted the pump and bottle under the seat, and the computer, which was a 'mare to fit on the blade type forks! I'm just waiting for some gatorskins (can't get Marathon Plus's in 650 size) spare tubes, and crud II mudguards before I head off on a proper ride. When I've got the wheels off to do the tyres, I'm going to try a mountain bike wheel in there 'cos it looks like a it would fit with a low walled tyre (assuming the brakes would move enough as well.)

1-7.jpg

2-2.jpg

S1051319.jpg

Attachments

• 1-7.jpg
    1-7.jpg
    125 KB · Views: 41
  • 2-2.jpg
    2-2.jpg
    138 KB · Views: 31
  • S1051319.jpg
    S1051319.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 31
Nice, enjoy.

OP
OP
BlackPanther

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.