Nervous riding on the road.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MAGA

The wife and I just started riding this past summer. We have hybrid bikes, and ride the rail trails, and other paved trails for walkers and riders. Nice rides, just not very long. Might do 12 miles or so.
Well, we just put 2 specialized road bikes in layaway, so I anticipate longer rides, meaning on the roads with cars. Indiana is not a bike friendly state. Bicycle lanes pretty much nonexistant. Going to have to research some areas to ride I guess. Just a bit nervous riding with drivers, texting and whatnot.

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
John Forester's "Effective Cycling" book might contain some useful tactics for US road riding but ignore the anti-trail/bikeway politics. (I've not read it all so I could be wrong.)

Look up the road laws of the states you'll be riding in. It's as well to know, even if they're punitive and you choose to ignore some.

AuroraSaab

Veteran
I totally sympathise. I live in a really busy suburb and my biggest concern is getting knocked off the bike. I ride on the pavements a bit and use side roads where I can, but the main thing is just to keep getting out there and you will gain in confidence.

RegG

Über Member