New bike condition/state?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

totem

Total Newb, but eager to learn
I've received a new bike, it was delivered by courier, and this will be my first. The bike is largely great, but I have some concerns about some aspects for its condition that might mean I'll request a replacement bike is warrarnted. As I have no prior experience could you guys help clarify a few things.

Is it common for new bikes to have minor imperfections - scratches, chips, blemishes, excess glue (I believe)?
http://imgur.com/a/cvud1
http://imgur.com/a/XAla9
http://imgur.com/a/jjTOB
http://imgur.com/a/xtys9
cvud1
XAla9
jjTOB
xtys9

Are the QR dropouts sometimes overtightened? What is the correct way to close the QR dropouts, so it's just right?

Do the disc brakes sometimes rub/incorrectly aligned?

Is it usual for the handle bars to be setup for transport in the following fashion?
http://imgur.com/a/TdXID
TdXID

I understand I'm probably being precious, but any insight would help me understand what i should be expecting from a new bike.

Last edited:

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
I can only see the first four and then one later photo but:

The bike will be simply bought and sent out from the manufacturer. They almost certainly won't have opened it, unless it's a return. The only issue I can see with the 4 photos is the scrape on the RH rear dropout - that's an indication it may be a return.

Were the wheels already fitted? It does look like it's possible you're the second recipient of this.

And yes, handlebars are usually like this for ease of transport.

OP
OP
T

totem

Yes, the wheels were already fitted.

Thanks for clearing up about the handlebars.

vickster

Legendary Member
I've bought a couple of bikes online. Handlebars were turned and don't think the wheels were fitted

One of the potential downsides of buying online, might be cheaper but cannot qc (and risk the hassle of having to return) and no 6 week check.