New cyclist, concerned about lycra

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ManxJason

Regular
Hello all, first post here as a complete newbie to the cycling world.

After having my arms twisted by a few people at work, I'm collecting my first ever road bike on Sunday. It's a Trek 1.2, shimano groupset, new wheels etc.

My colleague has given me some Lycra to try. It includes a rather expensive bib-shorts and jersey. I'm quite comfortable with the shorts as I have a decent bum and solid legs. The jersey however, I feel a little self-conscious about. I've got a bit of a belly on me you see. 5ft 11 and weighing 15.5st.

The jersey is a bit of a hugger, and when i say a bit, i mean skin tight. I mean it fits, but it moulds itself to every bit of myself.

My missus had a laugh at first but reassures me I look alright.

Is there anyone else out there who can reassure me than the lycra jersey should be absolutely skin tight??? Or should I just buy a looser fitting one for now on the cheap, until i've lost a few pounds?

I'd supply a photo if that really helps, but not if it's purely to take the mickey!

cheers
Jason

@ManxJason first off:welcome: and you look fine, I will be doing the W.N.B.R. in York in a fortnight and I can assure you there will be people larger than you doing it, so putting on a bit of Lyrca should be a none issue really, I see many cyclists of the larger size wearing Lycra and they all look fine to me, but then I ride a Viking so what do I know :smile:

redcard

Veteran
Even Brad has a bit of a belly sometimes. Granted, yours might be 3-4 times the size, but that just means you'll lose yours quicker than he can lose his.

120722033654-wiggo-story-top.jpg

Jebb

Regular
A pic would help, it might look ok but if not a loose fitting bike top will work just as good,no point wearing something you look daft in.

yello