New Shimano factory to ease supply problems.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tail End Charlie

Well, write it down boy ......
Yes, I'm after some 7 speed stuff and after a cursory search my usual outlets are out of stock. I'd heard things were getting in short supply.

Good morning,

Shimano seem to me to be in a slightly dangerous position at the moment.

As they have such a huge percentage of the market I notice it when I see a bike with Microshift gears/shifters and I am seeing more of them.

Campag seem to be probably happy with their market position

Although SRAM seems to have stagnated in terms of growing their market share, a sudden rush to 1x10/11 could favour them. Whilst I do prefer a 2x I have been riding an effective 1x7 for a few months now and it is surprisingly good fun. So a market moving to 1x based in part on what is available and in part on possible cost savings seems plausible.

The odd thing about 1x7 is that as I know that I am never going to have the right gear anyway it's so relaxing just selecting a gear and riding at my preferred cadence, whereas with my 2x10 I want to ride faster as I do have the right gear.

Then of course someone might come up with electronic shifting at the 105 price point, on one hand doing this doesn't seem to be in Shimano, Campag or SRAM's best interest but someone in one of these companies might feel that the market at Ultegra level and above is not as large as hoped and that section has been pretty much milked so the time is right for 105 Di2.

Unless a new player comes into the electronic shifting market, which seems less likely as the setup costs would be quite large and the only thing really stopping 105 Di2 is that Shimano does want to make it. Sure 105 Di2 may be too close to Ultegra Di2 in terms of price in the current market, but if their hand was forced there may be room to drop the price of 105 Di2.