New SS/fixed rider. Gearing Q.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Aaronjoy

Regular
Hi everyone, I just took delivery of a 2nd hand mint condition 2011 Trek triton today and gave it a good clean and setup. Cycled to and from work using the freewheel side and it was enjoyable, however the gearing seems a bit spinny. Using the freewheel the gearing is 48/20, and the fixed is 48/16, which would suit an area like the cotswolds?

I'm tempted to try the fixed side as I haven't ridden fixed before. I have a decent front and back brake fitted too.

Just ordered some michelin pro 4 endurance tyres for the winter as I'm wanting to use it throughout the winter as a commuter and a training bike. I've got a couple of years experience riding geared road bikes but my fitness and weight have taken a hit recently so I thought to spicen things up, hence the single speed.

Sharky

Guru
Hi, don't know what the Cotswolds are like, but I would think a 48x20 is a bit low and the 48x16 a bit on the high side. But forget the numbers, the beauty of a fixed cog or a cheap freewheel is that they are cheap and it is best just to go out and find a few hills and test your self. You'll soon know if the gear is too high.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Hi everyone, I just took delivery of a 2nd hand mint condition 2011 Trek triton today and gave it a good clean and setup. Cycled to and from work using the freewheel side and it was enjoyable, however the gearing seems a bit spinny. Using the freewheel the gearing is 48/20, and the fixed is 48/16, which would suit an area like the cotswolds?

I'm tempted to try the fixed side as I haven't ridden fixed before. I have a decent front and back brake fitted too.