New (to me) bargain Gtech...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

netman

Veteran
Fascinated by the idea of an ebike, I've been keeping an eye out for local bargains for a few months. About three weeks ago, I saw a Gtech Sport come up on Gumtree about 30 miles away - no battery as it had failed, but a bargain price of £30! I gave the chap another £10 for the charger. All genuine as he's an angler who bought it with money left him by his Mum a few years back - salt water had done for the battery and the bike was pretty scruffy with scrapes and marks to the paint work, needing brakes etc. He didn't want to pay out for another battery and knew it needed some a lot of cleaning up, hence the price.

Last week a battery came up on Ebay, used but fully working - I made a best offer and got it for £105 including p&p.

Got it all out yesterday morning and took it for a quick blast around the block to check it worked and bingo! All good apart from the brakes. Took it up two short hills and wow! How easy?!

So yesterday and today have consisted of lots of cleaning and fettling to make it all good...

New bars and stem fitted - On One from Planet X (the old ones were scratched and not the best quality), new grips and bar ends completed the cockpit. £23.50
Brakes serviced and pads replaced with Clarks MTB Elite. £2 Halfords bargain!
New tyres (Conti Sport Contact II) and tubes (Vittoria) fitted. £12 Planet X
Everything stripped, cleaned and lubed.
Paint work touched up with nail polish for now to cover the worst bits.
Pedals replaced with Superstar El Plastique. £8 Planet X

Total cost: £190.50
Will probably replace the brakes and possibly the saddle, depending on how comfortable it is, but for now it's ready to :bicycle:

Looking forward to commuting on it tomorrow!

Before:

$_86-4.JPG

After:

IMG_20200308_164747_1.jpg

IMG_20200308_164838.jpg

IMG_20200308_164852-2.jpg

`WOW - great bargain