NFTs (Non-fungible token)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
Not really an advice thread, but just out of interest - does anyone know/trade in these?

I've just been talking to a younger colleague who's only 19, he's been dabbling with NFTs over lockdown. He just told me he's made 2 or 3 grand so far and is bowing out before he gets too involved! He sold one a few months ago and made £1500, but had he kept it and sold today, it would have netted him £12000.

How on earth is this a commodity? I mean, it's a computer generated image, albeit a one-off. It's not as though anyone is printing these htings out and hanging them on their wall? So the sole purpose of having them is to sell? I'm no finance expert at the best of times, but this one I really do not understand!

Seevio

Guru
What's not to understand? They are things. Traders buy things in the hope that they can sell them on at a higher price. In the case of NFTs, they seem to have little intrinsic value to most people so their entire value would appear to be as a tradeable item. Unfortunately, each NFT will eventually come into the possession of the highest bidder who will then be unable to sell without losing money.

they seem to have little intrinsic value to most people so their entire value would appear to be as a tradeable item. Unfortunately, each NFT will eventually come into the possession of the highest bidder who will then be unable to sell without losing money.
Sounds like a lot in common with pyramid schemes, and various other complex cons :sad:

Last edited:
OP
OP
E

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
What's not to understand? They are things. Traders buy things in the hope that they can sell them on at a higher price