Night rider

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GavinDavies7

hi everyone Although I am new to cycling I have been looking to enter a charity ride or something similar for June /July time which gives me a good few months of training I have been looking at the grand appeal night rider which is a a Bristol based ride that starts at 10:30 pm which is 50 or 100kmI as the children's hospital is close to my heart as my son had heart surgery there a few years ago am looking to do the 50km as there is no pressure on the rider as it purely a charity ride which will build my fitness and and stamina ready for next year when I try something bigger was just wondering what sort of weekly or monthly goal I should be setting in terms of km on the bike and if you could give any other tips thank you in advance

13 rider

Guru
Don't get bogged down with training targets . Just ride when you can and slowly extend the distance step by step . If you do a shorter ride just try a bit harder, longer ride nice and steady . You've six months of riding to get from 14 k. To 50 km seems a big step but it will be doable slow and steady and don't forget to keep enjoying the riding .
Ideally you will have riden over 40km preferably 50km before the event so you know it's within you to do it . Don't forget to drink and eat on longer rides
Good luck and keep us updated on your progress

Simontm

Veteran
Agree with the above, but I would add extend your time not mileage. Go out for 20mins? Make it 30 a week later and so on. the mileage will build up before you know it.

And as above, have fun and enjoy!

Agree with the above, but I would add extend your time not mileage. Go out for 20mins? Make it 30 a week later and so on. the mileage will build up before you know it.

And as above, have fun and enjoy!