Numb right foot

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MrRidley

After riding about 10mls, my right foot from the ball to the toes starts to go numb, i'm using Spesh mtb shoes with M520's, it only seems to happen with the right foot, after 10mls i've got to stop and sort of shake my foot about to release the numbness, it's becoming a bit of a pain tbh, any ideas ?

gbb

Legendary Member
You're not new to clipless are you bhoy ?. I ask because when i started out, i found i was bunching my toes without realising it. Relaxing the feet while riding (after advice on here) sorted it for me.

OP
OP
M

MrRidley

gbb said:
You're not new to clipless are you bhoy ?. I ask because when i started out, i found i was bunching my toes without realising it. Relaxing the feet while riding (after advice on here) sorted it for me.

Yes i am new to clipless, been using them for about 2 month, if i was bunching my toes would it not be on both feet ?

sticky sherbert

gbb said:

Same here, I still do it sometimes especially if it's wet on the roads:wacko:
I get over the numbness by wiggling my toes while still riding.
It's always in my right foot to

PpPete

Legendary Member
Don't get it with clipless, but I did have a pair of flat-soled "touring shoes" designed for use with toe-clips (back in the day....) that I never got on with because of pins & needles in right foot.

chirk2000ad

I had the same numbness in my right foot - is there anyone out there who gets it in the left!

Pull out the insole of the cycling shoe. Place it on the floor and then put your foot on it. If your foot looks too wide for the insole the shoe is squeezing your foot and nipping one of your inter-digital nerves, hence the tingling and numbness.

Do not perserve with it - you will develop a painful condition called a mortons neuroma which is essentially a thickening of said nerve and a proper nightmare to get rid off!