Oiling my chain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Darkelf720

Hey everyone.

Could you tell me, how often would your recommend oiling my bike chain? I am now doing about 5-10 miles a day ish and some of that is on grass, gravel track and pavements. Had the bike two weeks tomorrow and not oiled it yet. The chain makes no noise or signs of stress and I don't want it to.

I am really new to cycling and am loving it.

Thanks in advance,

DE

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Use a bottle with a dropper, not a spray. Blob a drop of oil on each 'roller' (the middle bit). Then use an old cloth (old cotton t-shirts are ideal) and wipe the chain down to remove excess dirt and oil. I tend to oil my MTB depending on conditions, sometimes I won't need to oil the chain for a few rides, but depending upon dust/mud then the chain needs oiling more often.

Spray's just get oil everywhere.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
In short yes.

Maybe weekly. Maybe less often. More if you've been out in wet conditions.

Search this forum for the "Mickle method" which basically means wipe your chain down with a rag to get most of the crud off it, oil it - one drop per roller - then wipe it with the rag again to get the excess oil off.

The subject of "which chain lube" is one that is often discussed on here. It can become very heated indeed. People have definite views ;). But basically any old oil will do. A tin of 3-in-1 or a little bottle of chain lube from Halfords. Or (so I don't get flamed) Chainsaw oil which you can buy for three shillings a gallon or something.

Edit. Cross post with @fossyant Two CC-ers broadly agreeing on the subject of chain lubrication. That has to be a first!! :smile:
I agree!!

ChrisEyles

Guru