Packing for a tour

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Scott8147

Regular
I have been reading many of the posts about suggestions of what to take when touring. It seems that if I took all the great suggestions, I would have to be followed by someone in a van. I am new to touring. Have only done a couple of two days years and years ago. I am planning a two month tour, but staying in motels so no need for camping stuff. Would appreciate any suggestions on what you think I absolutely, positively cannot leave with out.

Tent? :rolleyes:

If you're staying in motels for two months, that's going to mean a big budget and far less flexibility, but if that suits you, that's all that matters.

You need to mention when and where you'll be touring: seasons and foreign lands make a difference to what you should take. Also if you're relying on technology or maps for orientation. And how are your bike repairing skills?

Let us know and we can offer more advice.

CopperBrompton

Bicycle: a means of transport between cake-stops
Staying in B&Bs, I take (including the clothes I wear):
- 4 x t-shirts, boxers, socks (do laundry every 3 days)
- Second pair of shorts
- Cycle cap (one as it can be washed at night and dries quicky)
- Waterproofs (jacket and trousers, trousers also acting as cold-weather leg wear)
- Cold-weather clothes (thin jumper, thick jumper, thermal shirt, thin gloves, thick gloves, waterproof cap)
- Pair of trousers for evening (worn with next day's clean clothes)
- Toiletries
- GPS, MacBook Air, iPad, camera, USB hub & cables to charge gadgets (Mac as I blog trips as I go)
- Paper maps (GPS as primary navigation, but paper maps better for an overview of the route)
- Spare tube & very basic tools (hit a bike shop for anything significant)
- Passport & travel insurance certificate

All that fits into two panniers (25 litres total).

Hill Wimp

Fair weathered,fair minded but easily persuaded.