Pads to discs

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fintious

Hi all, I’ve been riding my mountain bike regularly since for a few months which has disc brakes. Went out on my road bike the other night (in the rain) which has brake pads and couldn’t believe the difference in brake performance. Could I fit disc brakes to my road bike? I know it would cost a fair bit as I’d need to replace wheels or at least the hubs?

Slick

Guru
It's like everything else, with an unlimited budget, it is possible but it really wouldn't be worth the hassle for me. Best idea would be keep the road bike for dry days and ride the mountain bike in the rain.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
I would just buy a road bike with discs, the frame will be built to accept disc mounts , as said you could get a frame modified but the cost vs effectiveness wouldn't be worth it .
I dont know what road bike you have so budget is something i cannot recommend but i recently bought a carrera vanquish disc for commuting for similar reasons as the consistant braking in all weathers is what i got it for and even on the basic cable discs its pretty amazing .I do plan to upgrade the calipers at some point but its more off a want rather than a necessity .

Sharky

Guru
Have you costed just converting the front brake to discs?
Most of the stopping power is via the front brakes, something like 80/20 front/rear.
A lot cheaper to just replace the front forks if needed, front wheel, disc and levers.

Question for the experts - are standard cable brake levers compatible with cable disc brakes?
In which case a conversion to mechanical rather than hydraulic discs would be even cheaper.

vickster

Legendary Member
Question for the experts - are standard cable brake levers compatible with cable disc brakes?
In which case a conversion to mechanical rather than hydraulic discs would be even cheaper.
Yes, I have Spyres with Apex and Rival, can also use with shimano if you must :laugh: