pain in "unusual place" after long bike ride.......is this normal ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dave7

Legendary Member
After my recent bike fit and change of saddle I did the 68 miler (as previous post). Afterwards the muscle at the top/rear of my arm was painful. I thought "well....in that position for a long ride it should be expected".
2 days later It was still sore but I decided to do a 35 miler........still sore at the end.
Today......3 days later I played golf and that muscle area was even worse.
I have just massaged it with a mix of oils and Aracer cream (for bruises).
I just wondered if this has happened to others i.e. is it expected.
If it helps I am 68 and this is my first year of "proper" cycling. No other aches/pains at all..........just that on muscle area.

TheJDog

dingo's kidneys
Your triceps? Is it just one arm? Are you now riding with bent arms where previously you were riding with straight arms?

Slioch

Guru
It's probably the golf that's causing it. I suggest you flog your clubs and buy another bike. :whistle:

I used to suffer from muscle/joint issues in my arms which I reckon was caused by riding with my arms too straight. My position on the bike was too stretched out. I think you need to have a little bit of bend in the arms to help soak up the bumps etc, I changed my stem for a shorter one and raised the bars a wee bit higher, and that really helped.

OP
OP
Dave7

Dave7

Legendary Member
Your triceps? Is it just one arm? Are you now riding with bent arms where previously you were riding with straight arms?
Well it is defintely MAINLY one arm..........the right one.
On the bike fit he actually lowered the saddle and move it forward.........so theoretically my arms should be bent slightly more.??
Once I felt the pain/sorenees creeping in I did try altering the angle of my arms/elbow joints..........(to late was the cry :smile: )

OP
OP
Dave7

Dave7

Legendary Member